

EDITOR

Bruce Holsinger

ADVISORY EDITORS

Amanda Anderson, Brown University Derek Attridge, University of York Helene Cixous, University of Paris VIII—Vincennes Jonathan Culler, Cornell University Wai Chee Dimock, Yale University Winfried Fluck, Free University, Berlin John Frow, *University of Sydney* Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht, Stanford University Jerome McGann, University of Virginia Toril Moi, Duke University Martha C. Nussbaum, University of Chicago Ato Quayson, University of Brian Stock, University of Toronto Zhang Longxi, City University of Hong Kong

PUBLISHER

The Johns Hopkins University Press

THE RALPH COHEN PRIZE

The RALPH COHEN PRIZE was founded in 2010 to honor the achievements of the founder and forty-year editor of *New Literary History*. It especially acknowledges Ralph Cohen's longstanding commitment to encouraging and publishing the work of junior scholars.



Graduate students, untenured faculty, and independent scholars who have not published an essay in the journal are eligible to submit essays for the competition on any topic appropriate to the aims of *New Literary History*. They are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the journal's guidelines and scholarly profile. Endnotes are used rather than bibliographies. Chicago style is preferred. Contributions should not exceed 9,000 words, including notes, and are accepted by email. Essays should not be under consideration elsewhere. The deadline for submissions is **June 15, 2025**. All submissions should be marked "Ralph Cohen prize" and emailed to **newliteraryhistory@virginia.edu**.

The winner of the award will receive a \$2,000 honorarium. The essay will be published in a future issue of *New Literary History*.